My Father Taught Me One Thing about 4/June – CCP Could Collapse but Never Be Reformed

Passion Times

28th April, 2014

My Father Taught Me One Thing about 4/June – CCP Could Collapse but Never Be Reformed

老爸借著六四教曉我的事:「中共只能倒台,不能改革!」

pt1

I was a primary school student in 1989, when television channels were covering the Tiananmen Square movement extensively every day.

Why did a primary school student pay so much attention to the movement? simply because my father forced me to watch the news every day.

Before the army began its killing in the Square, my father warned me repeatedly, “the CCP will kill them all. They (the CCP) will most definitely shoot – this is the CCP’s nature.”

All media from all parts of the world were covering the Tiananmen Square movement back then, and all of them believed that the CCP would not order a violent crackdown because China was opening-up and western media were closely monitoring the incident… However, my father strongly disagreed. He believed that the CCP would give the kill order. He stressed to me: “the CCP will kill them all!”

My father was a Communist Party member. During the Cultural Revolution, my father was framed and sentenced to TEN years!

After ten years of jail time, as soon as he stepped out of the prison, he risked his life and swam to flee to Hong Kong – successfully “touched base” and escaped the evil Communist Party.

Many years later, the victims of the Cultural Revolution had their names cleared. China began to open up, students began to long for democracy. However, my old man’s views on the CCP never changed. In its DNA the Communist Party is a brutal killing regime. My father witnessed it during Cultural Revolution first hand, and fully understood the contemptible nature of the Party. In my father’s mind this sinful, brutal, regime has made too many unforgivable mistakes and is beyond salvation. This regime and party has permanently lost its ability to improve because its history is steeped in blood. In my father’s eyes, the Cultural Revolution never ended.

“the CCP might collapse, but it will never be reformed!” This is my father’s view on China.

In the end, the bloody crackdown and massacre shocked the world. My father, however, was not surprised at all: “I told you from the beginning that the CCP would kill them. Of course they opened fire, because they are the CCP!”

This is the insight I gained from 4/June: the CCP is a brutal killing regime!

25 years have passed, along with my father, over a decade ago. Looking at China today, looking at Hong Kong today, we have learned a great deal about CCP’s brutality.

I thank my late father for telling me that “the CCP might collapse, but it will never be reformed!” instead of HK Alliance’s weak and empty chants “reverse the wrongful verdict on 4/June” and “investigate who is responsible for the massacre”.

Thanks to my father’s words I never had any hope in the CCP’s puppet Hong Kong SAR Government, and I have never naïvely believed that the CCP would grant Hong Kong a high degree of autonomy and democracy.

I understand that to have true democracy in Hong Kong, the CCP must be overthrown – something I learned from my father.

For the local democratic movement in Hong Kong to succeed, we must understand the truth behind my father’s words: “the CCP might collapse, but it will never be reformed”. The only way to pave our way to democracy is to overthrow the CCP. This is also the most important thing about 4/June to Hongkongers.

HK Alliance’s 4/June Vigil is based on the illusion of a democratic China – they fantasise that the CCP will reflect upon its past and reverse the wrongful verdict on 4/June. This illusion has led Hongkongers into a dangerous romantic dream.

It is time for us to kick our addiction to the HK Alliance’s illusion and re-evaluate the lessons of this part of history.

As localists, it is our duty today to teach our next generation this part of history and help them understand one truth: “the CCP might collapse, but it will never be reformed”

 

Leave a Reply

